Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
NURIA BOWART - AS Teacher, Capoierista, Osteopath
[Image: 085dacd1-8447-40aa-af4f-67504c97adf7.jpg]

Dear Friends,

In December I will take the time to focus on fascia within my classes. Having just returned from the 2018 Fascial Research Congress (FRC), I have generated some new understanding and fun ideas for inhabiting and understanding the intelligence of our connective tissue, or fascia. Layers, density and relationships will be some themes of our explorations. Using anatomy as a reference, and sensing as a tool, we will move our understanding about fascia through space and time.
After 20 years working with Fascia as a dancer and a Rolfer, I have finally attended my first Fascial Research Congress. The FRC is an international gathering, every three years, of fascial researchers, and practitioners like myself. This year it was in Berlin, and I decided to go.
First I must explain, in case you do not know, that I am also a teacher of The Axis Syllabus; a compilation of information about the moving body, of which fascia is one aspect to understand. My understanding of fascia is both anatomical and experiential. My way of going about understanding fascia (and the entire body that I am becoming) is cognitive and somatic.
At the FRC I was among mostly academic scientists and medical professionals. I found myself asking where are the healers and artists?